top of page

Des Webb

Updated: Nov 3, 2023

Des Webb was born in 1937, and spent most of his adult life dedicated to the Redcliffe Leagues Club, both on and off the field of play.

He joined the Dolphins in 1956 and played the next decade before hanging up his boots and

joining the Board of Directors in 1968.

Redcliffe Dolphin players Des Webb, Keith Howard and Cliff Robinson after the 1959 reserve grade grand final:

Redcliffe District RLFC. 1962 Reserve Grade BRL

Back Row: J Young, K Parmenter, K Griffith (Treasurer) A Gledhill, C Easton (Selector)

Third Row: R. Dixon, R Boxsell, K Lucht, Des Webb, W Muller.

Second Row: D Marney, D Muller, C Robinson, J Whitehouse, P O'Reilly, R Simpson.

Front Row: S. Bishop (Manager) K. Welsh, N. Frost (Captain) R. Turner (Coach) C. Raaen, (Vice Captain) J. Houghton, F.P. Swepson (Secretary)

Inset: I. Paul. Absent P. Quinn.

He became president in 1988 and held that position for the next 23 years.

Under his presidency the Dolphins were A Grade Premiers 6 times and overall champions 10 times.

Redcliffe Leagues Board 1998: Back row: Peter Yates, Henry Holder, Barry Wright and Robert Jones. Front row: Dennis Brennan, Des Webb (Chairman) Doug Shepherd.

One of his many achievements was to encourage the club’s junior teams, which swelled from 200 to over 850 players.

A grandstand, club lounge, an award and a bridge bear his name .

Des with his wife Aileen:

Des Webb is listed on the wall of the Redcliffe Wall of Fame:

A collection of portrait and information honouring the achievements of individuals who have influenced and shaped Redcliffe. The collection is in the Jetty Arcade at 139-141 Redcliffe Parade.

For a complete list of people who appear on the wall click on the following blog post:

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page